Sick

Does anyone else have this ridiculous cold that won’t let go? I’m miserable!

 

Wednesdays are as wonderful as Mondays are awful. So here was my life today – other than the cold, it was FUN (hardly could imagine saying that last year during recital packet week)!

 

8:00 a.m. – hung out with the boys

9:15 a.m. – Chuck and I gave the kids baths
10:00 a.m. – tried to put Elijah down for nap (ok, so something wasn’t enjoyable); cleaned the kitchen and played with David
11:15 a.m. – put both boys in car and went to Walmart (groceries), Subway (David was really good at helping me shop!), the Centre Hall Library (walked in during Kindergarten story hour and five or six little girls all jumped up to wave to me J), then to St. Luke’s Lutheran Church to listen to the bells ring at 2:00 p.m.
2:05 p.m. – headed home for naps… this was a little struggle, but David got to hang up his Beatles clock (finally) and listen to it play Beatles music on the hour.
3:10 p.m. – both boys finally went to sleep. Edited music for the recital… almost done with that, just a few more pieces to do.
4:00 p.m. – Taught Next Step Ballet, Opening Number (yay for almost being done with the piece!), Ballet Workout (ouch – we need to do more butt exercises), and Setting the Stage. I absolutely love my Setting the Stage kids. It’s all I can do to not sit and laugh hysterically at their teenage perspective on the world (except for little Martha, who just sits in awe of the older girls). They are so fun, and I’m glad that I have a theater class this semester!

8:30 p.m. – kisses for Elijah, shower with David (who slipped and bonked his forehead in the SAME place he’s already had stitches twice… boys will be boys, I guess), and finally prayers and bed

9:30 p.m. – dinner and a few minutes of Grupo Corpo, a brilliant Brazilian dance company… probably some of the strongest dancers I’ve seen. Have I told you I LOVE Ovation TV? If you don’t have it, just seriously get it. Now. Do not pass go, do not collect $200… it’s the most amazing arts programming ever. Monday night is performance night, and it ranges from the Bolshoi Ballet performing the original Petipa Nutcracker to behind the scenes documentaries on Mark Morris’s company rehearsals. My favorite are the half hour specials on jazz musicians – Ella, Billie, Louis, Parker, Ellington, the list goes on. And two nights ago, they had this amazing Paris series about art and culture. I sat just drinking in the French language again after all this time. I miss it!

 

So here I am. Off to put away laundry and read a few pages in the third book of “The Russians” – a silly fictional series about pre-Revolutionary Russia that I thought would be interesting for its perspective on Orthodoxy, but is actually written by two evangelical authors that didn’t do their homework. Most of it is bashing the “empty faith” (so they describe it) of the Russian people and trying to convince you (not so subconsciously) that you should practice your faith the way the authors do!! Ah, artists with agendas…. But then, that’s all of us.

 

Bonne nuit,

Sarah

 

Leave a Reply

