From the Desk of Miss Sarah: New Artistic Souls & Their Lucky Teacher

Every once in a while, I feel an overwhelming surge of pride at how far my dancers have come. It’s not that I’m not proud of them ALL the time, but occasionally, I gain new, big picture perspective on my job and how blessed I am. Last night, I was reflecting on the level of my students as I finished their mid-semester evaluations, and I realized that I am so very lucky to have the opportunity to work on very advanced concepts with even relatively young dancers.

My jazz dancers are exploring musicality and styles, ranging from their swaggy little combination to Justin Bieber‘s “Boyfriend” to grounded, modern-based movement inspired by my own classes with Randy Duncan. My ballet students are ready to begin their first Aurora variation, and are diligently making sure that they leave our academy knowing terminology, including some pretty crazy French spellings and definitions! And my little hoofers are unbelievable, testing out new time signatures, varying dynamics, creative shading, deliberate phrasing, and finding their “voice” during tap improvisation.

My beautiful tap mentor, Barbara Swanson

I’ve spent years studying under the best names in ballet, tap and jazz, and I am sure that my teachers would be tickled pink to sit in on these classes. Seeing the next generation of dancers beginning to grow into and recognize their own artistic souls is a real treat, and I am thankful and blessed to be a part of their journey.

Dream… Believe… Achieve!

Leave a Reply

